Office of the Dean

Deans photoDr. Catharine Whiteside was appointed Dean of the University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine and Vice Provost, Relations with Health Care Institutions in 2005. As Dean, she leads Canada’s largest Faculty of Medicine with more than 7,700 faculty members and 8,300 students enrolled in undergraduate medicine, post-graduate medicine, radiation sciences, and professional-stream as well as doctoral-stream graduate programs. As Vice Provost, she is responsible for the University’s partnership with 9 fully affiliated hospitals and 18 community-affiliated hospitals and health facilities. The Faculty of Medicine and the fully affiliated hospitals also represent a thriving research enterprise – one of the largest in North America – that includes 121 Canada Research Chairs and with the University of Toronto’s 9 fully affiliated research hospitals, attracted $919 million in research funding (2012-13). In 2012, the prestigious National Taiwan University Ranking (formerly HEEACT) ranked U of T’s Faculty of Medicine number one in Canada and number seven in the world, based on impact of published research.

Dean Whiteside completed U of T’s Undergraduate Medical Education program in 1975, followed by postgraduate training in internal medicine and nephrology and a doctorate from U of T’s Institute of Medical Science. She joined U of T’s Department of Medicine in 1985 as a clinician-scientist and has engaged in basic research in the field of cellular mechanisms of kidney disease. In 1996, Dr. Whiteside became a full professor of medicine; prior to being appointed Dean of Medicine, she served as Associate Dean of Graduate and Inter-Faculty Affairs.

Dean Whiteside is the recipient of several prestigious awards and honours, including the Medal of Research Excellence from the Kidney Foundation of Canada (2007) and the Canadian Medical Association’s May Cohen Award for Women Mentors (2009). She served on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) from 2009-11 and is a member of the Executive Committee for the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC).